Update on the Neural Impulse Actuator; Other Mind Controllers

I haven’t been able to get in contact with anyone from OCZ yet. Here are some things that I have read about the Neural Impulse Actuator. First the price, it sounds like it will retail for $300. Second, they are planning on making the device available for the XBox 360 and PS3. I am wondering if it will replace the game pads completely or if you will still need the use of the analog sticks? I say that because the PC version requires some use of the mouse. Third, I’m not sure if it is being released next week or next month. I read an article today that said next month. I get all excited about next week and then they give crushing news, I don’t think that I’ll ever recover, LOL.

Some of you know that OCZ isn’t the only company that has developed a “Mind Controller”. One such company is Emotiv, Their controller works the same way but I don’t really care for the helmet look and it doesn’t seem practical if you use a headrest like I do.
Emotiv - Project Epoc

Another company is Neurosky, Theirs looks like a headset.
NeuroSky

I’m not sure which is the best because I can’t afford to purchase all three. If I could just test them then I could give you my opinion but that probably won’t be for sometime I bet.

2 Responses

  1. My son is 22, has DMD, and loves PC games. Currently he limits himself to mouse-controlled full-screen games because he can’t handle a regular keyboard. You have an adapted keyboard? Was wondering what alternatives you have found to traditional keyboards that will work with full-screen games.

    Thanks,

    Jeff

  2. What article did you find that say the NIA is being released next month?

Leave a Reply

